Extended Weekend Food

14th Jan was a holiday in Sri Lanka.

Darling’s mother was hospitalized due to a complication with one of her eyes, so we did a bit of running around . Came home and made a fried rice with Ghee for lunch.

The smell wasn’t very pleasant at first but it tasted very very good, if I may say so myself. I picked up the bottle of Ghee from one of our trips back home, out of sheer curiosity. I’ll be using some of it again.

I also made a Watalappan with some Jaggery Darling brought me to cook the new year Kiribath. ( Milk rice ) . But I didn’t use them. Found the Watalappan recipe here. But like it suggested, I didn’t make a caramel for it. I somehow knew the Jaggery in the pudding would make its own caramel. Also, if you feel like the pudding is going to be too sweet , reduce the amount of Jaggery or increase the milk. I went with my gut quite a bit here and it was delicious ! The more chilled it was, the better tasting. Yum!

So now. Let’s see the pictures shall we?

Leeks

Leeks

I make myself cry !

I make myself cry !

Chopped Cashew

Chopped Cashew

..and raisins of course

..and raisins of course

The bottle of Ghee I picked up from one of our trips back home

The bottle of Ghee I picked up from one of our trips back home

The coconut shell spoon given to me by my mother in law.

The coconut shell spoon given to me by my mother in law.

Ready?

Ready?

The final result. I added fried and chopped sausages and pepper.

The final result. I added fried and chopped sausages and pepper.

Watalappan

Watalappan

Leave a Reply

