Spicy nutty chocolate slabs

I’ve been dying to make these for a long time ! Chilli chocolate has always fascinated me , can you imagine all the spices and the dark richness of chocolate mixed together with a hint of sweetness? Yum !

Today, a slow slow Saturday, while my husband napped in the evening, I turned on some music and went to work.

They turned out just as I expected them to, and it took much less time than I thought it would. Only about 20 minutes in total.

Here’s how I made them.

I used a Lindt dark chocolate my sister in law had given me for my birthday. I made a mixture of chilli powder, salt and pepper together and fried it a bit till it was fragrant.

While that was happening, I roasted the seed mix in the oven, flattened on a parchment paper. I had some seed mix left from our trip to London.

Then I melted the chocolate in the microwave, checking and stirring it every 30 seconds or so. It only took a couple of minutes.

I then mixed the salt-pepper-chilli mix into the melted chocolate , adjusting taste as I wanted it.

The roasted seed mix , I spread on a small plate with a parchment paper on it and poured the melted chocolate with spice in it over the mix. I flattened it out with a spoon, and scattered a handful of the remaining seeds and nuts on top.

I put it in the fridge to set.

Took it out after a couple of hours ,  broke them into smaller slabs , ate a couple of pieces in one go. Such sweet spicy goodness ! Darling likes it too. Yay! 🙂

Right. The pictures aren’t that great, perhaps next time, I’ll try harder to get better pics. In the mean time, enjoy the chocolate !

 

1

 

2

 

3

 

4

 

5

 

6

 

7

 

 

Leave a Reply

