Week 20 !

Why am I the world’s biggest sucker ?!?!

Yup. That’s the question I am trying to answer these days.

I am the girl in fifth grade who refused to stay for after school activities because my ‘best friend’ said I didn’t need to. All these years later, I still find it hard to believe she was so malicious.

But zoom away from childhood, I still haven’t been able to not be a sucker.

You know the beggars in Colombo know I am the biggest sucker too? They walk up to my window in the car and I crumble. I see this beggar almost every day walking without his stick, no limp, but he stands there trembling and I can’t help myself. I give him my last 20.

About a month ago, an old lady in her nightdress with a massive suitcase , a bundle of clothes and a picture frame sat in our lane. I took her in. I shouldn’t have but I did. Boy, the drama !

Last week, I was home alone and someone rang our bell. There was a man peering through the bamboo bars in our gate. He wore white long sleeves and blue plants , had yellow tinted glasses with thick nerd frames and said “theruwansaranai”. Spoke in English, said he’s had to beg money pay his child’s school fees. I looked in my purse there was nothing but a thousand. So I gave him that . Darling was not happy. He could come back. He could be a rapist , a thief, a killer, who knows ! I really shouldn’t have. I know.

Then the next day, the guy who usually picks our coconuts came by and asked for a thousand rupees. I had to say no. Said he couldn’t pay his rent. I gave him a five hundred after consulting my husband but what irked me was the fact that even after I told him that’s all I had , he hung around pleading, as if knowing if he pestered enough, I’d give more. He promised to bring in coconuts, said he was going to pick jackfruit from a tree nearby and said he’ll keep bringing things like that until he paid off the five hundred. I haven’t seen him since.

I haven’t answered my own question yet but I guess, recognising the problem is the first step, so here we are. Enjoy the pics ! ( The pictures have nothing to do with this post ! )

134/365 14/05/2014 Preethi Wesak !

134/365
14/05/2014
Preethi Wesak !

135/365 15/05/2014 Jeeves marries Thush. What an awesome time!

135/365
15/05/2014
Jeeves marries Thush. What an awesome time!

136/365 16/05/2014 Charith Peiris all in white, ready to go in.

136/365
16/05/2014
Charith Peiris all in white, ready to go in.

137/365 17/05/2014 Holiday ! Yay !!

137/365
17/05/2014
Holiday ! Yay !!

138/365 Maadu ganga , early in the morning. Felt peaceful till the monkeys showed up.

138/365
Maadu ganga , early in the morning. Felt peaceful till the monkeys showed up.

139/365 Some really nice nurses gave me a bench to sit on while I waited for malli's surgery to be over.

139/365
Some really nice nurses gave me a bench to sit on while I waited for malli’s surgery to be over.

140/365 20/05/2014 "Have you seen Mexicans? Well have you seen one Mexican??"

140/365
20/05/2014
“Have you seen Mexicans? Well have you seen one Mexican??”

 

Leave a Reply

